Reviews



Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

great little place for an overnight stay or longer. friendly host Jean caters for all your needs. very clean and dogs also accommodated for. highly recommended

Response

Dear Steve, Thank you both for the lovely review.I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay, including dear Bella, of course.I hope that you will come back soon and perhaps enjoy a mini break in the cottage/chalet, you are assured of a warm welcome at any time.I hope that you all have a lovely, relaxing break on your visit to the Island.Kind regards,Jean

Reviewer:Steve P | Sat 7th Sep 2019 | 1 week ago


Everything one needs! - Rating 5/5

I was travelling alone for a family funeral &Jean was extremely kind &helpful. The room was lovely, very comfortable, had everything one needed. Lovely breakfast!

Response

Dear Sue,Thank you so much for the very kind review, it is much appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay even though the circumstances were sad that bought you here to us.I have now also enjoyed having your brother to stay overnight with us.Do take care and hopefully you will return to stay with us again in the not too distant future.Kind regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Sue S | Sat 17th Aug 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Cosy and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Really appreciate the welcome I received at this charming accommodation. Easy to find and nothing too much trouble from the owner. Would highly recommend. Thank you so much. Trish.

Response

Dear Trish,Thank you so much for the kind review.I am so glad that you and dear pup enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to visit us again in the not too distant future.You will always be welcome.Take care.Kind regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Patricia W | Wed 14th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic Bed & Breakfast- Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting, rooms exceptionally clean and beds very comfortable. Jean made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely breakfastwe stayed with dogs and it was a very safe setting for them.We will be back thank you again for a lovely stay.

Response

Dear Sonia,Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad that you, your Mother and \"Bill\" of course ( hope he enjoyed his show) enjoyed your stay. I am looking forward to your next visit, hopefully soon. Take care. Kind regards, Jean

Reviewer:Mrs. Sonia S | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Stayed here and thought it was amazing,and the host was also amazing and really helpful.

Response

Dear Pete & Family,Thank you for the lovely review, it was my pleasure to meet you all of you and to have you staying here.I look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future.Take care.Kind regards, Jean

Reviewer:Pete K | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 1 month ago


Wonderous little place - Rating 5/5

What a great place to take a weekend escape, we stayed in the chalet and Jean our host was lovely.We are excited to return and sleep in that comfy bed.The area is excellent for all your needs or alternatively you can settle in for the weekend and just enjoy the gardens and setting.A wonderous little placeĀ¬

Response

Dear Both,What a lovely review.I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to have the pleasure of your company again very soon.Kind regards, Jean

Reviewer:Jansen S | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Gorgeous place - Rating 5/5

Absolutely gorgeous setting, lovely rooms and excellent value for money

Response

Dear Laura, Thanyou so much for your lovely review.I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.Do take care.Kind regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Laura M | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


our stay - Rating 5/5

we both loved our stay

Response

Dear Both,I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the lovely review.I t was such a shame about the rain, but at least the gardens are happy. We hope to see you here with us again.Take care and a big pat for the lovely\"Honey\".Kind regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Allan H | Wed 12th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Super place- Rating 4/5

Simple quiet and comfortable rooms with good bed! Lovely hostess and tasty breakfast. Great setting, highly recommended. P

Response

Dear Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is appreciated.I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and what we have to offer.It was lovely meeting you all and I hope that we may see you stay with us againat some point, you are always welcome.Kind regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Rebecca M | Wed 5th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


wedding&anniversary weekend - Rating 5/5

a lovely weekend we had at the otters green , the room was spotless the bedwas so comfortable and the breakfast as much as you wanted to eat, will certainly stay again if in the area A BIG THANK YOU TO JEAN strongly recommend this b&b xx

Response

Dear Both,Thank you so much for your kind words and lovey review.I am so glad that you enjoyed both your events and your time staying here.I certainly enjoyed our chats and do so hope to welcome you back again.Take care.Kind regards, Jean.

Reviewer:JAMES MC G | Mon 27th May 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect stay in Otters Green - Rating 5/5

We booked 2 nights in Otters Green Woodland chalet for 4 adults and one dog. We had perfect time over there and have been pampered by Jean, who is so nice. The place is clean, well equipped and there is a nice space for pets with an outdoor table. Come to discover that place, it's worth going out of your way to see it :)

Response

Dear Annabelle, Thank you so much for the lovely review.I really am so glad that you , your friends and dear \"Sugar\" the dog enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back here again soon.Take care and warm regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Annabelle D | Wed 8th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time in the chalet. Good amount of space, comfy beds, warm welcome and a lovely atmosphere. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Dear Hailwood family.Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Woodland Chalet here at Otters\' Green.I am so glad that you all enjoyed your accommodation and surroundings and hope to have you back to stay very soon.Have a lovely Easter.Kind regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Mrs H | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Relaxing stay - Rating 4/5

We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome. The room, stocked with everything you need, made for a relaxing stay over Christmas. Good selection for continental breakfast.

Response

Dear Clare & family.Thank you so much for the lovely review.I appreciate your taking the time especially at this busy time of the year.I am so glad that your lovely family enjoyed their short stay and found everything to their liking and hope to see you all or some of you staying with us again in the not too distant future.I would like to wish you all a Happy,peaceful and prosperous 2019 and a speedy recovery time re your foot Clare.Kind regards,JeanOtters\' Green.

Reviewer:Clare H | Wed 26th Dec 2018 | 8 months ago


Great Value - Rating 4/5

Beautiful setting, friendly, helpful.

Response

Dear Mr Skarratts,Thank you for your lovely review.It was a pleasure meeting you and all of your family, I am so glad that you enjoyed your family event and your stay at Otters\' Green.I hope that you will come to stay again, you will always be assured of a warm welcome awaiting you.Kind regards, Jean

Reviewer:james s | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 11 months ago


Delightful stay - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome from Jean the owner, including biscuits for the dogs.Room very clean and comfortable with plenty of complimentary refreshments.The garden patio was a lovely space to sit and relax with breakfast in the old granary being utterly charming.

Response

Dear Joy,Thank you for the lovely review.I am so glad that you, your friend and the delightful, friendly dogs enjoyed your stay with us.Please know that it would be a delight to have you stay again at any time.I hope to see you here with us again one day in the not too distant future.Kind regards, Jean

Reviewer:Joy T | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant, quiet dog-friendly spot - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights in March and were made very welcome. Botley village is still quite unspoilt compared with much of southern Hapmshire. There are two good pubs serving food in the evening, and a foodstore. Otters Green is within walking distance of all amenities (take care when crossing the road outside though). Beds were comfortable, breakfast was ample and the dog was made particularly welcome. Will definitely stay there again if in the area.

Response

Dear Both & Bonny,I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I thank you so much for your lovely review.I do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit again, you will always be welcome.Kind regards,Jean

Reviewer:Carol P | Fri 30th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Dog friendlyand convenient - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome from Jean and comfortable accommodation. Ideal for dogowners with direct exits from rooms to outside giving independence. Near to local amenities and a good base for exploring the area. Would be happy to stay again.

Response

Dear Christine,Thank you so much for the lovely review.I do so hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and dear Charlie back to Otters\' Green in the near future.Take care and Happy Holidays.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine H | Wed 13th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely accommodation- Rating 5/5

Thank you Jean. We had a lovely week in your B&B. Very clean and tidy. I loved all the flowers. Breakfasts were good and it was nice to be able to help ourselves. So convenient for the village of Botley too. Jean was lovely and if we are ever coming this way again we will definitely stay here

Response

Dear Both,What a lovely review.I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again one day.Take care, Kind regards Jean

Reviewer:Mrs. HelenS | Thu 20th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Good Choice! - Rating 4/5

I have just enjoyed a 5 night stay at Otters Green.My single, en suite room was comfortable. My breakfast, in the very pleasant 'Granary', provided a perfectly relaxing &unhurried beginning to my days.Choices were plentiful - cereals, fresh fruits, meat/cheese/olive platter, bread, crumpets, croissants &more.Jean offered eggs too if I had wished.Good value for money, in pretty surroundings, within easy reach of all I personally needed.Jean remained attentive, kind and utterly charming throughout my stay.Many thanks for making my visit special.

Response

Dear Mrs Reed -Gillian.Thank you so much for the lovely review and kind words re myself,all are much appreciated.It was super having you stay and I hope very muchthat you will visit again and this time be able to bring your husband along as well.Take care, Jean.

Reviewer:Mrs Gillian R | Wed 12th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Very Peaceful- Rating 4/5

If you do not like the hustle &bustle of a traditional hotel then this is for you.Rather compact, but we got a good nights sleep, which is the important thing.Parking was a bit tight when all three cars were present, but we were in no rush so it was not an issue.Jean is a lovely lady and was very helpful.

Response

Dear Both,Thank you so much for the generous and kind review.Hope that you are now safely at home and hope to see you again one day.Kindest regards,Jean Otters Green

Reviewer:Mr. Tony C | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Lovely area,cosy room,very friendly hostWe have good stay and feels like homes

Response

Thank you all so much, hope to see you here again soon..Kid regards,Jean

Reviewer:Mr. ArkadiuszM | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Visiting Friends & Sightseeing- Rating 5/5

A good place to stay for people traveling around the area. It's a place to sleep and have a nice continental breakfast at your leasure before you head out for the day.

Response

Dear Mr& Mrs Sandven.I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Otters Green and thank you for the kind review.I hope that you come to stay again.Kindest regards,Jean,

Reviewer:Mrs. Charlene S | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely quirky B&B. Comfortable &Welcoming. Dog was welcomed with open arms &biscuits. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Dear Mrs Chapman,Thank you so much for the lovely review.Best regards Jean.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachel C | Thu 4th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Otters Green a warm welcome. - Rating 4/5

Otters green Bed @Breakfast is in a mature garden setting adjacent to owners bungalow. Although rooms were fairly small everything we needed for a comfortable nights stay was available. Breakfast was relaxed in the summerhouse,again in the garden.Although a small building it was help yourself from a good selection of continental style breakfast.The owner made us feel very welcome and comfortable. All in All a pleasant overnight stay.

Response

Dear Mr & Mrs Anderson.Thank you so much for your lovely review, hope to see you again.Take care, Jean at Otters Green.

Reviewer:Mr. Elaine A | Sun 22nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


The most beautiful little cottage - Rating 5/5

Such a wonderful stay at Otters Green! Our host was incredibly helpful and friendly. Really nice to get out of London and get that type of hospitality. The rooms were tidy, warm and comfortable.%-stars would definitely stay again!

Response

Dear Jodie,Thank you so much for your lovely review, much appreciatedBest regards,Jean

Reviewer:Ms. JodieTran| Mon 2nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


otters Green - Rating 5/5

Very good accomodation, comfortable and well equipped bathroom facilities. The Granary is perfect for breakfast good choices and flexible times.Jean is very welcoming and helpful.Will certainly stay again when visiting Hampshire.

Response

Thank you so very much for the kind review - I hope to see you both back here soon.All the best,Jean.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeff W | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


A very pleasant place to stay - Rating 4/5

I only had one night at Otters Green, a very pleasant stay. I had come by train and it was an easy walk from Botley Station. I went on to a wedding at Botleigh Grange and it was a nice moderate walk there also, but I could have got the bus.

Response

Dear Dr Rawlinson,Thank you for your kind review.We hope to see you here again one day.Kind regards,Jean

Reviewer:Dr. Graham R | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Otters Green - Rating 5/5

Beautiful place!! a very clean and confortable place to stay with peaceful and delightful surroundings. Highly recommended!!

Response

Thank you so very much,Whata lovely review we hope to see you here again.

Reviewer:Miss. Silvia Mira a | Sun 2nd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely weekend at Otters Green - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Otters Green. Jean, our host, was so lovely and welcoming. In the morning we had breakfast in the Granary where we were treated to fresh eggs from the hens kept by Jean's neighbour.Botley is a hidden gem and we had a thoroughly relaxing time. We intend to go back again next year. We would highly recommend Otters Green to anyone planning on making a visit. Wonderful.Alex and Alexia

Response

Dear Both,Thank you so much for the very lovely review you are very kind.Can\'t wait to take your booking for next year- book soon to ensure your chosen dates are available to you.Looking forward to seeing you both again here at Otters Green..

Reviewer:Mr. Alex M | Sun 2nd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Very pleasant experience- Rating 5/5

A beautiful and very unique b &b. Well kept and very comfortable. Very friendly and helpful owner. My husband and I will definitely be staying here again.

Response

Dr Mr & Mrs Cruise,Thank you so much for the lovely review, I look forward to welcoming you back to Otters Green soon. Kind regards, Jean

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne Cruise| Thu 14th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay at Otters Green - Rating 4/5

We had a comfortable stay at this quaint B and B. we had a warm welcome and the room though small had a patio/varandah area to sit out and have coffee on and the room was clean and well stocked tea and coffee making equipment, lots of water and some nice biscuits!The room faced a mini garden and Pine trees and was apart from the house and quite private. There were two other adjacent rooms but they were not occupied I think as my daughter and I saw no one else. Breakfastin a small mock Tudor outhouse, was self service with proposer coffee, toaster, microwave etc all provided. Several different teas etc. The owner offered to make us eggs on toast but did not do other cooked breakfasts. We opted for poached egg, which was done well. We were there as we were attending a wedding in Botley Hotel and spa which was a mile away. All in all it was a pleasant stay.

Response

Dear Mrs Vanderpoorten,Thank you so much for your kind review, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay.It was a pleasure having you both stay and I hope to see you again when cirumstances avail you to be in the area.Kind Regards.Jean - Otters Green.

Reviewer:Ms. Ranmal Vanderpoorten| Sun 12th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


A little bit of heaven - Rating 5/5

Lovely unique B &B, would recommend it to anyone needing to stay near to Southampton.Jean is a wonderful host

Response

Dear Carol,Thank you for the lovely, generous review.I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed having you and and indeed your relativeshere, it was a pleasure and I hope you will all return to stay at Otters Green in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Arthur| Sun 28th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

A very nice welcome from Jean the owner. Made us and our dog feel welcome.Our room was very nice and had all the facilities you need at a b&b.Would definitely make a return visit when in the area.

Response

Dear Mr & Mrs Mathews.Thank you so much for your lovely review.It was a pleasure having you here at Otters Green and of course dear Clover - who is a little poppet.I do hope that you will return for another visit in the future.Kindest regards, Jean.

Reviewer:Ms. Janice M | Sun 31st Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


A decent little place - Rating 4/5

My single room was small and basic, but clean and en-suite, and it suited me fine. The proprietor was very friendly. The setting of the B&B is leafy and beautiful, with a huge red-wood tree in the garden. The breakfast was basic but adequate.

Response

Dear Doctor Jones,Many thanks for your kind review, it is much appreciated.Kindest regards,Jean

Reviewer:Dr. Luke J | Mon 18th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Otters Green - Rating 4/5

Nice little B &B and ideally situated about 200 metres from Botley village centre. Landlady Jean is very welcoming and is keen to make your stay as happy as possible.Breakfast is in a 'quaint' building in the garden area just outside the rooms. Single room is not the biggest but was ideal for my one night stay. Good value I thought.

Response

Dear Mr Lyons,Thank you so very much for your kind words and lovely review both are very much appreciated.Take care and visit again.Kindest regards,Jean

Reviewer:Mr. John L | Mon 2nd Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


The Best! - Rating 5/5

Otter's Green is a charming, peaceful oasis in a world of hurry and bustle.Greeted by Jean, my dog Loki and I were shown a pleasant, convenient room, facing onto a small garden, and provided with everything we could need. Jean is friendly and caring, with a clear interest in her guests (especially the dogs, but it runs over onto their humans as well). I thoroughly recommend Otter's green to anyone, but especially those who wish to travel with their pets. Thank you, Jean, for a perfect stay.

Response

Sorry, my first response did not reach you, my thanks for your kind words.My regards to oth you and Loki.

Reviewer:Mr. Nick G | Fri 27th Dec 2013 | 5 years ago


'Otters Green' - Rating 4/5

Very homely and welcoming environment

Response

Dear Mr King,Thank you for your kind words - most appreciated.I hope to see you again at POtters Green.All the best, Jean

Reviewer:Mr. Rod K | Sun 8th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


otter - Rating 4/5

Great place to stay, very relaxing

Response

Dear both,Thank you so much for the wonderful review.You are both so kind.I wish you much joy for your upcoming wedding and many happy years together.Photos pleas.Kind regards, Jean -Otters Green

Reviewer:Mr. Brian P | Mon 8th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Stay in Otter's Green - Rating 5/5

A friendly and welcoming place to stay, the owner was extremely kind and helpful.The rooms are very well kept and in a good clean condition.I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Response

Dear Mr Baumer,Thank you so very much for the lovely review, I hope that you will be back to visit Otters Green again soon.Kind regards, Jean

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Baumer| Mon 1st Jul 2013 | 6 years ago